Kodaly – Mozart – and Beethoven tonight at cardogan hall – English chamber orchestra 

We listened to Christopher park playing the Piano Concerto No. 17 in G major, K. 453 tonight – the singing around between the clarinet and flute was romantic – the second movement sounded a bit static – as if sitting in the middle of the night – the pianist Christopher touched the keys in a bouncy way that the pointy sound resembles the flipping metal sound on a music box – in a moment – the orchestra disappeared like a cloud of dust and the piano emerged – Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466 was composed in a very clear structure – especially the second movement – kodaly’s dances of galanta was from Hungary – it sounded like a character dance – wild in the tempo – the wind slows down – then the orchestra quickly speeds up – the music started from individual kind of instrument introducing themselves – the cello sounded solid and edgy

here’s the pianist christopher park – i liked his touch of keys

learned about the hungarian composer kodaly – the tempo in his dances of galanta is so arbitrary – and when the orchestra emerges – it emerges strongly and abruptly

didn’t know that beethoven actually composed a ballet piece

the lighting was so beautiful – i was lucky that my ticket was on the first row of the middle gallery . 

so colorful 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s